• Across the Devices
  • Cost Saving
The below information applies to Lync 2013 and may not be valid for Lync 2010 users.
Lync Contacts
How can I add an work contact to my Contacts list?
  • In the Lync main window, under Contacts view, Select Contact button
  • Drop down menu > click ‘add a contact in my organisation’
  • Enter person’s name or email address or phone number in the search box. As you enter each letter, a list of those who match the criteria are displayed.
  • Find the person in search results and right click their listing, followed by clicking ‘Add to Contacts list’.
  • To add your new contacts, choose a group from the list.
How can I add an external contact to my contacts list?
IMPORTANT: If you are set up to add contacts from other external companies, you can do so. For assistance please ask support.
  1. Lync main window > click ‘Add a Contact’ button
  2. Drop down menu > click ‘add a contact NOT in my organisation’ > click Lync
  3. Enter the email address in ‘Add Lync Contact > add IM address’
  4. Your new contact needs to be given a group and privacy relationship and then click OK.
How do I locate contacts from my company?
In the main Lync window under contact view, in the search box, enter person’s name or email address or phone number you are searching
Can I block contacts from my Contacts list?
Blocking a contact in Lync please see below. Note they cannot reach you via Lync, but will still see your name and email address.
  • In your Contacts list, right-click the contact you want to block, click Change Privacy Relationship, and then click Blocked Contacts.
How can I delete contacts from my Contacts list?
To delete a contact from your list , right click the contact followed by ‘Remove from Contacts list’

Note Deleting a contact via the Delegates group, note that Outlook® delegates, that are listed together with your call delegates in your Lync Contacts list, 1) should be deleted in Outlook® (from File > Account Settings > Delegate Access), and 2) remain in your Lync Contacts list even after you remove them. The issue is noted with no other current solution. All though deleted Outlook® delegates continue to be displayed in your Lync Contacts list, they cannot be used in your calendar or email.
How can I set call forwarding to answer my calls?
Lync delegates can answer your calls, if your account has been enabled to do so. In Call forward options you can manage delegates; Lync main window > Options > Call Forwarding > click Edit my delegate members > Add or Remove and/or change ring settings.


At the bottom of Call Forwarding options window you can find ‘Edit my delegate members’.

Important

  • Once you have set up delegates, you must then choose an option in call forwarding options. You can choose simultaneous ring or forward my calls list option..


In Contacts list you will see Delegates group and here you can select.


Note Outlook® delegates are also included in your Lync contacts > Delegate group. If you use Outlook® then delegates can be managed in email or calendar (even if your account does not support delegates). Outlook® delegates can on only be managed in Outlook® not Lync. If you wish to delete a delegate in Outlook® go to File > Account Settings > Delegate Access, .

Important Even though deleted Outlook® delegates remain in your Lync Contacts list, they can no longer manage your calendar or email. This issue is known in current release.
My account is enabled for delegates, but how do I add or remove?
If delegates have been enabled in your account;
  • Only the owner of a delegate list can add or remove contacts. Each individual Lync user creates and maintains their own delegate list. Simply by clicking Options > Call forwarding > Edit my delegate members > Add or Remove
  • To manage your own delegate list go to Options > Call Forwarding> Edit my delegate members. Here a window appears to allow you to add, remove and/or change the permissions of delegates.
  • Note: At the bottom of Call Forwarding options you will see ‘Edit my delegate members’..
I cannot delete a delegate from my Contacts list?
Deleting a contact via the Delegates group, note that Outlook® delegates, that are listed together with your call delegates in your Lync Contacts list, 1) should be deleted in Outlook® (from File > Account Settings > Delegate Access), and 2) remain in your Lync Contacts list even after you remove them. The issue is noted with no other current solution. All though deleted Outlook® delegates continue to be displayed in your Lync Contacts list, they cannot be alter your calendar or email any longer.
Can I arrange my contacts by location, department or other criteria?
You can create a new group as desired, for example, you could create a group named ‘sales staff’ and add contacts to this group.
Can I create a group?
  1. Lync Main window > Contacts list > right click a group name > click Create a New Group. You can also click ‘Add a Contact button followed by Create a New Group.
  2. To describe your group by a name, check the space at the bottom of the window and here you can enter over the word New Group.
Is there a maximum number of Contacts?
The maximum number of contacts Lync holds is 1,000. However, the actual number is set by your company, so contact support if this number is not available.
How do I see my profile that is displayed to public?
Presence information for each contact is determined by the privacy relationship setting. A contact can then only view certain elements such as home, mobile numbers, meeting locations and do not disturb availability.
    On the Relationship tab, you can check relationship levels of each contact in your Contact list.
Why is there people I never included in my Relationship tab of my Contacts list?
Any interaction with a contact via Office, is assigned a default relationship, even if they are not in your Contacts list. Unlisted contacts are not displayed in your Contacts list, on the group or status tab. However, the relationship tab displays all contacts registered and unlisted. You can delete unlisted contacts by right clicking on the contact itself and click Change Privacy Relationship, followed by choosing Auto-assign relationship..
What is the meaning of the red star/asterisk next to a contacts status?
If you see a red asterisk this denotes that a contacts status in Outlook® is ‘Out of Office’.